Resolve to Reach Your Goals!

I am not a big resolution-maker, I’m more of a goal-setter.  Call it quibbling but to me, there is a difference between making resolutions versus setting a goal.   A resolution, by definition means that you are “resolving” to make a change.  It’s not what I would call an action statement.  Setting a goal, on the other hand is concrete.   Let’s look at it this way.

Say you want to lose weight, a resolution would be along the lines of:  I want to lose weight.

If you have a goal to lose weight it would go like this:  My goal is to lose 10 pounds and to achieve this goal I will do the following, eat less, move more, add more fruits and veggies, drink water, etc.

So whether you have a resolution or a goal for 2011, be sure to add some action to it.  Write out what you want to achieve and the steps to get there.  That way, whether you call it a resolution or goal won’t matter so much!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

