Good Training Includes A Race Day Plan

It’s highly likely that I will never win a marathon that I’m running. Odds are that I won’t even finish in the top third. However, just because I am not running a marathon for prizes or accolades doesn’t mean I don’t have a solid race day plan in place.

I’ve tried various race day strategies in the past. In the beginning my strategy was to keep moving in a forward motion. This is a very sound and smart strategy and one that if I’m having problems I will employ, don’t get me wrong. But as I have gotten stronger and more confident in my running, my plans have evolved.

Personally I find breaking the race into 6 mile blocks works really well for me. It turns a marathon into 4 easily runnable segments with a few miles tacked on at the end. Instead of looking ahead to the 12, 18 or 24 miles I have left I look at my 6 mile mark and go from there.

So no matter what your race day goals may be don’t let months of hard work go to waste without a solid race day strategy.

Now go run!
Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

