Complimentary Compliments

I saw a gal I hadn’t seen in a while.  She looked fantastic which I told her and asked what she’d been doing.  While my comment was completely sincere (she is looking fierce) here’s the question;  by complimenting someone on how good they look after a weight loss or a body improvement am I sending the underlying message that they looked bad before?

I was on the receiving end of that once after I lost the baby weight – it was a “you look sooooo much better ”  comment.  One of those backhanded compliments that sound nice at first but smack you across the face the minute the insult sinks in.  Now it was a true statement, I did look much better, but sometimes one should just make the compliment without the commentary.  So when I run into someone who has made such positive changes in their life I try and offer a truly sincere compliment and trust that they know it’s from the heart!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

