Step It Up!

I spent a few hours at the Marin County Fair yesterday with my 4 1/2 year old and my husband.   Just past the gates and before the first food truck there was a healthy-kids zone to encourage fitness and movement in kids.  This booth is great every year and the best thing is they give away free pedometers and enter you in a raffle for every 2000 steps you clock at the fair.   So I figured I’d strap one on and see how I did.

First of all we know that these pedometers are not the best measure of footsteps, but it’s a good start to see an approximate number.  We wandered around for about 2 hours or so and when we passed the booth on our way out of the fair I had walked 3,923 steps.  Fitness professionals recommend that people walk 10,000 steps per day for optimal health so I was partway there.

Seeing my progress for a 2 hour visit to the fair has given me the idea to keep my pedometer on me for a few days to see how much walking I actually do during the day.  My mother-in-law picked one up a few years’ ago and still wears it to this day.  So I’m going to try and wear mine for a few days.  If you are wondering how many steps you take in a day, get thee to the fair and stop by the booth and pick one up.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

