The 3 R’s of Fitness – Rest. Relax. Recharge.

I just returned from a 4 day camping trip to New Hogan Reservoir with my family and a bunch of friends.  I think we topped out at 45 people.   It’s only a 2 and a half hour drive away but when we get there it feels as far from home as you can get.  We live in bathing suits, sunscreen and dirt the entire time.  Once we set up our camp and launch the boat we spend most of our time dragging the kids behind us on the inner tube, hopping in the water to cool off or grabbing another adult to spot us as we water ski.

When not on the water we are sitting on chairs under the EZ-Ups near the water’s edge.  The kids fish or play in the water and we adults hang out to chat, visit and completely relax.  Every now and then someone will take a Jet Ski out for a ride or hop on a friend’s boat to take another gaggle of kids out on the water.   It’s a perfect break from the day to day minutiae of chores and tasks.  Our main goal is to relax and enjoy ourselves and our kids.

As a rule I bring my workout clothes with me but frankly I don’t use them.  I take these days to completely recharge my batteries.  I enjoy the perks of all the work I’ve done because walking up the big hill from the beach to our campsite doesn’t wind me nor does water skiing hurt my body like it would if I wasn’t active.   These are the benefits that I work so hard for.  These little milestones that make me proud of the hard work I do.

We’re heading back to New Hogan soon and I will bring my running shoes and shorts as always but I expect they’ll come home as clean as I packed them.  And that’s ok!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

2 thoughts on “The 3 R’s of Fitness – Rest. Relax. Recharge.

  1. Glad to hear that you take breaks, too! Wish we could have been there. Sounds like fun. August for sure! We did take our canoe out and spent Sunday on a lake near us. Found a great rock for jumping in and the water was so refreshing! Relaxing is a good thing!

  2. Sarah, it was almost embarrassing how lazy I was! Pure heaven. Look forward to seeing you in August. Take care in this heat my friend!!

Leave a Reply

