What Friends Are For

Ok so I watched the Real Housewives of New York’s 3rd reunion show and I have to say it was a waste of an hour.  Many hours in truth as I sat each week and watched each hour long episode.  The bickering, the arguing, the back-stabbing and nastiness was just over the top.  Oy.

I am grateful to have a nice group of friends.  Friends to run with, shop with (thereby helping me stay within the realms of fashion), laugh with, drink wine with, boot camp with and kvetch with.  I have a friend what moved to Texas who shares the same love for low-quality white Safeway cake with their famous Crisco frosting and a childhood friend that reminds me of what a goof I was, am and always will be.

My friend list however,  has whittled down throughout the years as my patience for bullshit and drama has decreased.  I don’t have room in my life for fair-weather friends, those that pop up when they want something.  Those who keep in touch as it can benefit them.  I don’t like mean-spirited humor and I have a total dislike for women who use the one-liner  “Bitch” as their response to anything good or positive that has happened in my life.

In return for being a good friend to me I will in turn be the most loyal and trustworthy friend you can ever have.   I will have your back in any situation, bring you food when you are sick and give you a hug whether you need it or not.   I will try and remember the milestones of your life such as birthdays and anniversary’s.  I’m not great on the phone but will pen you a note (on notecards, no less) or drop you an email to say I was thinking about you.

There’s no reason anyone of us should be stuck with bad friends.  Or bad friendships.  We should be around other gals who celebrate and honor us and we need to be that kind of friend that celebrates and honors others.  So the next time you may be tempted to drop the “B” bomb when you see a friend who has lost 25 pounds or gotten a hair cut that makes her look 10 years younger.  Bite your tongue and ask her what she’s doing to look so damn hot!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

One thought on “What Friends Are For

  1. Yes, your buddy in Texas still gets MUCH joy from the white Safeway cake, or as they call it here Tom Thumb. Nothing beets that big ol’ slab of cake with some tea or coffee…think I am in need of a slice soon!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

