What’s Your Vision?

A vision board is a great tool to use for attracting or bringing into your life the things you want.  In a nutshell it’s based on the Law of Attraction (here’s where it gets kind of New Age, but stick with me) where you are putting out in the Universe that which you want to receive.  I have used one in the past and still have it on my wall in front of my computer.  It has some sayings I love, an old PR goal for the NY Marathon (which I did make, by the way), photos of my kids and other offbeat things.

Vision boards are usually done on a large sheet of paper.  If you want to take a trip to Hawaii, you may put a tropical photo on your vision board.  If you want a new job with the financial security that comes along you may put the name of the company you wish to work for or the salary you wish to achieve.   Health or weight loss goals can be posted as well as photos or phrase that will motivate you to stick with your goals.  The only rule for a vision board is to put positive things on there, things you wish to receive by asking for them.

Since my current vision board is about two years old I decided I needed a fresh one to help bring some new opportunities my way.  For example, I want to run the Portland Marathon at a PR pace of 4:15, so on my vision board I have written PR:  4:15 on 10/10/10.   I have written some key words to help me stay focused; Run Faster.  Run Longer.  Run Stronger.  I’ve also written ‘what can I do today to make the world a better place?’ and the word Fun repeatedly on the bottom of my page because I can take things too seriously and sometimes I just need to have fun.   My vision board took me about 10 minutes to do – it’s kind of the quick and dirty version of one but it has all the things that I am looking for.   There are no creativity rules, it doesn’t have to be a work of art, it just has to have meaning to YOU!

When you are done you can either stick it in a drawer and forget about it (and let the Universe do its thing) or you can post if for reference.  Being a visual gal, mine is posted prominently above my computer.  It’s totally up to you.   If you create a vision board, I’d love to hear what some of your goals and aspirations are so drop me an email or post a comment.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

