Lost and Found

I lose my beloved Garmin all of the time.  Not really lose, but misplace.  Most often it’s found in the bottom of a workout bag or behind the night table.  My kitten Charley likes to swat it around to make the face light up.

I usually have a mild panic attack when I can’t  find my beloved Garmin.  I mean how can I run if I don’t know the mileage, my pace or my splits?  What am I going to write down on my calendar??  How can I tell Brad I lost my very, very expensive toy and need to buy a new one??

When I completed the half marathon in early May, I again misplaced my beloved Garmin.  Thankfully I was recovering from the race so it wasn’t a problem.  Yet.  The week went along and it was time to get my butt on the road again.  With or without  my beloved Garmin.

Surprisingly I enjoyed my runs that week.  Well, to be truthful, I enjoyed that second week of running.  The first week without my beloved Garmin pretty much sucked.  I had not realized how much I depended on that green piece of plastic to tell me how my run went.   The second week I started to get more comfortable running for the pure joy of running.   I noted my time but didn’t let it rule whether I was having fun or not.

Well, my beloved Garmin has turned up.  I’d love to say that I haven’t used it yet but I strapped that sucker on my wrist for my run the other day!  I’m a work in progress, what can I say?

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

