Inspiration with a Capital “I”

I finally was able to watch the latest episode of The Biggest Loser. I wasn’t able to record it and the newest episode hadn’t hit On Demand or Hulu yet so I resorted to buying the latest episode on Itunes.  It was the best $1.99 I spent this week!

For those of you who don’t watch or who haven’t seen the show yet, this episode would be referred to as the “Marathon Episode”.  Their challenge is to run and complete a full marathon.  That’s right, 26.2 miles.  Starting at The Biggest Loser Ranch they head out to PCH and finish on a sandy beach along the Pacific Ocean.  Not a bad way to end a race, that’s for sure.

I love this show for so many reasons but the main reason is that I love to see hard work rewarded.   I particularly loved this episode for the simple message that it delivered.  No, not that you’ll gain weight training for a marathon (although that does happen and is referred to as marathon gaining).  Koli summed it up best when he said if he could do a marathon, anyone could.

I smiled when I heard that, as you can imagine, because that is the main message I try to impart on anyone who asks to me about running.  Or training.  Or boot camp.  Or doing something out of their physical comfort zone.   Our belief system can be our worst enemy.  You may have been told before that you’re “not a runner” or you’re “not strong” or you’re “too heavy” or some other bull.  You may have been told it so many times that you falsely believe it to be true.  But I don’t buy it.

And if you don’t believe me,  take it from our pals over at The Biggest Loser.  They can do it.  So can you.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

